Curriculum Intent Statement

Curriculum Intent statement

We work hard to ensure all children at Priory receive a broad, balanced and creative curriculum which engages and challenges them. The Priory Values are at the heart of what we do.

We have high expectations of our staff and children. We encourage them to be problem solvers with a positive attitude to learning and the capacity that learning has to change lives. We make sure our school is an inclusive, stimulating environment that reflects and celebrates our creative learning approach.

Our curriculum is based around themes or topics, which change each half term. These topics are broad, encompassing elements of history, geography and science and are always supported by the use of high quality texts. We ensure that children have the opportunity to go on a variety of educational visits that help to put children’s learning into context and bring it alive. We want the children to be curious and ask questions that will shape the learning in their class. We want pupils to persevere, and reflect on learning and to be able to go back and improve their work.

Pupils learn knowledge and key skills from the National Curriculum within topics when possible or discretely when not. We follow the agreed syllabus for religious Education for Slough. Pupils will learn about the major religions so that with greater knowledge they can respect and have a greater understanding of the religions and beliefs of others. We incorporate Philosophy for Children as part of our PSHE curriculum.

Music has a high profile at Priory and is led by an experienced and talented specialist teacher. Musical opportunities are extensive and include music lessons for all classes, whole class brass lessons and singing in assemblies. We have a well-established and successful choir who perform at a wide variety of events. We also offer a variety of instrumental lessons taught by peripatetic teachers and the opportunity for children to work towards formal grading examinations.

Physical Education is a strength of the school. Lessons are taught by a team of specialist teachers and we aim to give every child the physical literacy, emotional and thinking skills to achieve in PE, sport and life promoting physical health and wellbeing amongst our children. We successful run the Daily Mile initiative in all year groups as well as an Active Movement programme in Years 2 & 3.

For a number of years we have worked in partnership with Enabling Enterprise, who are an award-winning not-for-profit social enterprise whose mission is to equip young people with the skills, experiences and aspirations they need to succeed in life. During the course of an academic year we run a variety of whole school Challenge Days as well as various lesson time projects linked to our curriculum in order to develop a set of key skills which combine what employers are looking for and the skills that have been shown to unlock learning. These skills are built from the foundations of empathy, resilience and confident communication.

The school provides the full offer of extended school provision. Children have an opportunity to access a wide variety of sports clubs after school hours and during lunch times. We currently offer 6 morning clubs, 8 different lunch clubs and 19 after school clubs. We aim to give as many students as possible the chance to represent school teams with over 270 children participating in competitive opportunities last year.

Subject leaders play an important part in the success of the curriculum by leading a regular programme of monitoring, evaluation and review. The school’s focus on curriculum development is designed to ensure coverage and progression. We seek to ensure that the needs of individuals and small groups of children can be met within the environment of high quality first teaching supported by targeted interventions where appropriate.

Most importantly, we want children to enjoy learning as this promotes achievement, confidence and positive behaviour. We engage with a range of high quality creative partners to enhance learning and provide a range of predominately arts based opportunities for children. We are passionate about the difference that The Arts can make to not only children’s learning but also their life experiences. Our curriculum offers all children the opportunity to perform each year and view the performances of others. Theatre, dance and music performances are embedded in to our curriculum for all children. We are in the process of gathering evidence in order to apply for the Artsmark award.

Our curriculum map, which contains information on the school curriculum for each academic year in each subject, can be viewed here: Complete Curriculum Map September 2018-19.

Details on the EYFS Curriculum can be found using the links below:

Early Years Reading Writing Overview

Nursery Curriculum Overview

Reception Curriculum Overview

Further information on the 2014/15 curriculum can be found at here.