Governing Body

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.

Each individual governor is a member of a governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body. Decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.

The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • Set the aims and objectives for the school
  • Set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Priory School’s current governing body structure is as follows:

Name Position Appointed by Area of Responsibility/Committee Term of Office
Jacqueline Laver Headteacher Finance and Personnel Ex-officio
Rachael Bartlett Chair – Parent Governor Parents Year 6; Finance and Personnel 02/12/2015 – 01/12/2019
Sarbjit Kaur Dhillon Vice Chair – Parent Governor Parents Year 5; Health and Safety 02/12/2015 – 01/12/2019
Lindsey Hicks Staff Governor Staff Nursery/Reception; Chair of Health and Safety 19/12/2016 – 18/12/2020
Debroy Barrett Partnership Governor Governing Body Year 1/SEND; Finance and Personnel 12/10/2015 – 11/10/2019
Jo Thethi Parent Governor Parents Year 3/4; Chair of Finance and Personnel 02/12/2015 – 01/12/2019
Anglea Wilks LA Governor Governing Body Year 2; Health and Safety 27/03/2017 – 26/03/2021
Monisha Jefcut Associate Member Governing Body Deputy Head KS2
Sarah Mijatovich Associate Member Governing Body Deputy Head KS1
Jo McGovern Associate Member Governing Body School Business Manager
Kim McLaughlin Associate Member Governing Body Assistant Headteacher
Ian Smyth Partnership Governor until Oct 2016 Governing Body 15/11/2015 – 10/10/2016
Nick Dunkley LA Governor until July 2016 Governing Body 19/12/2014 – 21/07/2016
Harry Tawana Parent Governor until Jan 2017 Parents 02/12/2015 – 16/01/2017
Elizabeth Critchlow Clerk to Governors Governing Body

All associate members – no committee voting rights


Name of Governor/Position Relevant business interests Any other educational establishments governed Relationships with the school staff, including spouses, partners and relatives Date form completed Change declared
Sarbjit Kaur Dhillon/Parent Governor  Volunteer at Khalsa Sunday Punjabi School 10/10/2016


Please click on the image above to see the table of governor attendance to meetings.